Skip to main content

2021 Robert W. Sussman Award Recipient

Posted by on Monday, October 5, 2020 in Uncategorized.


The Executive Committee of Section H (Anthropology) of the AAAS is pleased to announce that Dr. Jada Benn Torres (Department of Anthropology, Vanderbilt University) has been selected as the recipient of the 2021 Robert W. Sussman Award for Scientific Contributions to Anthropology.

The purpose of this award is to recognize meritorious scientific contributions to the field of anthropology by mid-career anthropologists. It was established at the 2017 Section H Business meeting at the AAAS Annual meetings, to honor Bob Sussman’s embodiment of the science and spirit of Anthropology. Dr. Benn Torres exemplifies the spirit of this award with her prolific and insightful contributions in her work on genetic ancestry and population history of African and Indigenous Caribbean peoples.

Please join us in congratulating Jada Benn Torres for her outstanding contributions, and in toasting her at the Section H reception at the next in-person AAAS meeting.

Robert W. Sussman Award winners:

Jada Benn Torres-2021

Deborah Bolnick-2020

Erin Vogel-2019

Erik Seiffer-2018

More information about the award can be found at

and about the AAAS meetings at

Leave a Response