Skip to main content

International Student Support Working Group

The International Student Support Working Group (ISSWG) creates a space where international and domestic students along with university staff from across campus may have conversations to discover and develop resources and events in support of international students.

 

Current ISSWG Membership

Iriza Baranyanka Vanderbilt International Student   Association (VISA)   iriza.m.baranyanka@vanderbilt.edu
Susan Barone Provost Off, Learning & Res Affairs   susan.m.barone@vanderbilt.edu
John Bradley Writing Studio & Tutoring Services   john.bradley@Vanderbilt.Edu
Dave Brown Global Education Office (GEO), Peabody Professional Student   david.brown@vanderbilt.edu
Annette Burris International Students and Scholar Services (ISSS)   annette.m.burris@vanderbilt.edu
Carrie Cargile English Language Center (ELC)   carrie.n.cargile@vanderbilt.edu
Jim Cracraft English Language Center (ELC)   jim.cracraft@vanderbilt.edu
Jeff Davis Career Center   jeffery.davis@vanderbilt.edu
Somto Dimobi International Student and Scholar Services-Advisory Board (ISSS-AB) somtochukwu.c.dimobi@vanderbilt.edu
Laiba Fatima International Student and Scholar Services-Advisory Board (ISSS-AB)   laiba.fatima@vanderbilt.edu
Greg Fontus Inclusion Initiatives and Cultural Competencies (IICC)   gregory.fontus@vanderbilt.edu
Tassany Henderson Transition Programs   tassany.c.henderson@vanderbilt.edu
Jeff Henley Peabody Prof. Student Career Dev.   jeff.henley@vanderbilt.edu
Michelle Kovash International Coordinator, Office of Student Affairs, Law School   michelle.kovash@vanderbilt.edu
Jasper Lee International Student Council   mun.il.lee@vanderbilt.edu
Brook Meissner Owen Career Management Center   brook.meissner@owen.vanderbilt.edu
Hasina Mohyuddin Peabody Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
  hasina.a.mohyuddin.1@vanderbilt.edu
Meaghan Mundy Peabody Office of Professional and Graduate Education (POPGE)   meaghan.e.mundy@vanderbilt.edu
Andrea Pietrzyk International Students and Scholar Services (ISSS)   andrea.h.pietrzyk@vanderbilt.edu
Matthieu Popesco International Student and Scholar Services-Advisory Board (ISSS-AB)   matthieu.f.popesco@vanderbilt.edu
Stacey Satchell The Graduate School   stacey.satchell@vanderbilt.edu
Ruth Schemer The Graduate School   ruth.schemmer@Vanderbilt.Edu
Suzy Wang Global Education Office (GEO)   yuanqi.wang@vanderbilt.edu

 

The group membership may evolve as themes change from year-to-year.

Organizer:
Susan M. Barone, PhD., Executive Director of International Student Programs
Office of the Vice Provost for Learning and Residential Affairs

Current Co-chairs:
Carrie Cargile, Language Teaching Specialist,  English Language Center
Jim Cracraft, Assistant Director,  English Language Center
Andrea Pietrzyk, Assistant Director, International Students & Scholars Services

Academic Year 2018-2019 theme:  Networking

The working group is currently developing materials and workshops (to be held in Spring ’19) around the theme of ‘networking’ to help students explore the cultural expectations and language commonly used in networking situations, such as

  • striking up a conversation
  • making small talk
  • creating and delivering elevator speech
  • closing a conversation
  • following up

A networking event is planned for Fall ’19 in conjunction with Development & Alumni Relations and Parents & Family Programs during Reunion weekend. At this event, students will have the opportunity to apply their developing networking skills with the university community, including Vanderbilt alumni.