NCGOA Spring Institute 2014: Subfactors, CFT, and

Department of Mathematics, Vanderbilt University, May 2-8, 2014

365@VU: 192 - Kirkland Hall Welcome to the homepage for the Twelfth Annual Spring Institute Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras

This year’s topic is Subfactors, Conformal Field Theory and Vertex Operator Algebras. The Twelfth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras is a combination of spring school and international conference. During the school part of the meeting several mini-courses on a variety of topics from noncommutative geometry, operator algebras and related topics will be given by leading experts. The conference will consist of a number of invited research talks and short contributions. We strongly encourage students and postdocs to attend this conference. Please read the section on financial aid below regarding information on how to apply for financial support.


Speaker Affiliation Minicourse Topic
Terry Gannon University of Alberta, Canada

Introduction to Conformal Field Theory

Masaki Izumi Kyoto University, Japan

Near Group Categories and Their Relatives: Cuntz Algebra Approach

Geoffrey Mason UC Santa Cruz Introduction to Vertex Operator Algebras
Scott Morrison Australian National University, Australia Problems in the Classification of Small Index Subfactors
David Penneys University of Toronto, Canada Introduction to Subfactors
Peter Teichner UC Berkeley and Max-Planck Institute for Mathematics, Bonn, Germany Functorial Field Theories and Ring Spectra
Antony Wassermann Aix-en-Provence, France Operator Theoretic Aspects of Conformal Field Theory

Each mini-course will consist of 3 lectures. Click on the mini-course title to see an abstract (when available).

Invited Speakers

The following people have agreed to speak at this conference (please click on the title to see the abstract):

Speaker Affiliation
Marcel Bischoff University of Goettingen
Chongying Dong UC Santa Cruz
David Evans Cardiff University
Andre Henriques Universiteit Utrecht
Gerald Hoehn Kansas State University
Yasuyuki Kawahigashi University of Tokyo
Valerio Toledano Laredo Northeastern University
James Lepowsky Rutgers
Richard Ng Iowa State University and Louisiana State University
Dmitri Pavlov University of Muenster
Stephan Stolz University of Notre Dame
James Tener UC Berkeley
Dan Voiculescu UC Berkeley
Feng Xu UC Riverside


All participants, including minicourse speakers and invited speakers, are asked to register online. Click here to register online. All questions should be directed to If you intend to request support, please read the section Reimbursement Policy. There will be a registration fee of $50. Payment by cash or check is accepted at the conference.

Financial aid

Financial support will be available to (partially) fund graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and other participants without grant support. We encourage those of you who are asking for support to share accommodations. If you plan to apply for funding, please fill out the “Request Financial Support” portion of the registration form. International participants need to fill out a Business Visitor Questionnaire. Please submit your request for financial support by March 14, 2014. Late applications will be considered as long as financial support is available. Note that we are unable to provide any support in advance.


Funding for the Twelfth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras is provided by the National Science Foundation through NSF grant DMS 0849242, by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency through DARPA grant HR0011-12-1-0009, by the College of Arts & Science and the Department of Mathematics at Vanderbilt University. We are grateful for their support.

Organizing Committee

Dietmar Bisch, Vanderbilt University
Jesse Peterson, Vanderbilt University
Vaughan Jones, Vanderbilt University

Local Information