Department of Mathematics, Vanderbilt University, May 3-9, 2019

Nashville skyline Welcome to the homepage for the Seventeenth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras & 34th Shanks Lecture

This year’s topic is Algebra and Geometry Quantized and Quantified. The Spring Institute 2019 will focus on common themes and recent developments in topology, quantum algebra, topological condensed matter physics, subfactor theory and quantum information theory.

The Seventeenth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras will be held in conjunction with the 34th Shanks Lecture, delivered by Fields Medalist Michael Freedman (Microsoft Research). The annual spring institute on NCGOA is a combination of spring school and international conference. During the school part of the meeting several mini-courses or short talk series on a variety of topics from noncommutative geometry, operator algebras and related topics will be given by leading experts. The conference will consist of a number of invited research talks and short contributions. We strongly encourage students and postdocs to attend this conference. Please read the section on financial aid below regarding information on how to apply for financial support.

Invited Speakers

Speaker Affiliation Title
Michael Freedman (Shanks Lecturer) Microsoft Quantum – Santa Barbara
Maissam Barkeshli University of Maryland
Jonathan Belletete IPHT, Université Paris Saclay, CEA, CNRS
Anna Marie Bohmann Vanderbilt University
Meng Cheng Yale University
Iris Cong Harvard University Universal Quantum Computing with Gapped Boundaries
Colleen Delaney UC Santa Barbara
Lukasz Fidkowski University of Washington
Cameron Gordon University of Texas, Austin
Sergei Gukov Cal Tech MTCs, SPTs, and TMFs
Daniel Harlow MIT
Matthew Headrick Brandeis University Holography and Entanglement
Corey Jones Ohio State University
Vaughan Jones Vanderbilt University
Slava Krushkal University of Virginia
Zhengwei Liu Harvard University
Ashley Milsted Perimeter Institute
Scott Morrison Australian National University
Yoshiko Ogata The University of Tokyo
Tobias Osborne Leibniz University of Hannover Quantum fields for unitary representations of Thompson’s groups F and T
Vincent Pasquier IPhT Saclay
Emily Peters Loyola University, Chicago
Julia Plavnik Indiana University
James Tener Australian National University
Kevin Walker Microsoft Quantum
Zhenghan Wang Microsoft Quantum Beyond Anyons: From Fractons to Black Holes
Shmuel Weinberger University of Chicago Lipschitz constants and geometric complexity
Tim Ziman Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble and CNRS Transformation of currents and critical spin fluctuations
Modjtaba Shokrian Zini UC Santa Barbara


All participants, including invited speakers, are asked to register online. All questions should be directed to . If you intend to request support, please read the section Reimbursement Policy. There will be a registration fee of $50 (waived for speakers). Payment by cash or check is accepted at the conference.

Financial Aid

We expect that some financial support will be available to (partially) fund graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and other participants without grant support. We encourage those of you who are asking for support to share accommodations. If you plan to apply for funding, please fill out the “Request Financial Support” portion of the registration form. International participants need to fill out a Business Visitor Questionnaire. Please submit your request for financial support by March 15, 2019. Late applications will be considered as long as financial support is available. Note that we are unable to provide any support in advance.


Funding for the Seventeenth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras & 34th Shanks Lecture is provided by the National Science Foundation, the College of Arts & Science and the Shanks Endowment of the Department of Mathematics at Vanderbilt University. We are grateful for their support.
This conference is supported by NSF grant DMS-1855787.

Organizing Committee

Dietmar Bisch, Vanderbilt University
Michael Freedman (Microsoft Quantum- Santa Barbara)
Vaughan Jones, Vanderbilt University

Recent Posts

Recent Comments