A mentor’s legacy is also measured by the successes of his/her mentees. Below are the individuals who trained in the lab and some info regarding their current positions. Each and every one added to the scientific puzzles the H-lab is researching!

Post-doctoral researchers

Carrie L. Shaffer, PhD (2012 – 2016)      Current Position: Assistant Professor of                                                                                              Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular                                                                                        Genetics, University of Kentucky 

Graduate Students

Taryn Dunigan, MS (2018-2020)           Current Position: Applying to MD/PhD programs

Allison R. Eberly, PhD (2014-2019)       Current Position: Clinical Microbiology PhD                                                                                      Fellow at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Bradley D. Steiner, MS (2015-2018)       Current Position: Florida State University,                                                                                         Medical Student

Erin J. Breland, PhD (2013-2018)           Current Position: Health Services Research                                                                                       Program Analyst in support of the Defense Health                                                                           Agency Research and Development Directorate                                                                               (J-9) for Systems Plus, Inc. and pursuing a                                                                                       Master of Public Administration (American                                                                                       University)

Kyle A. Floyd, PhD (2013-2017)               Current Position: UC-Santa Cruz, post-doctoral                                                                                research

Kirsten R. Guckes, PhD (2013-2017)       Current Position: Penn State, post-doctoral                                                                                       research

Courtney M. Abana, PhD (2014-2016)   Current Position: Exxon R&D                       (Primary Mentor: Rogers) 

Undergraduate Students & Research Interns

Levy Sominsky (2017-2020)                           Current Position: Applying to MD/PhD Vanderbilt University                                       programs

Marissa Huggins (2017-2019)                                                                                            Vanderbilt University 

Tamia Ross (2018-2019)                           Current Position: Master of Public Health,    Vanderbilt University                                 Johns Hopkins 

Tomas Bermudez                                        Current Position: Vanderbilt IGP, Class of 2019  (Summers 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)                                                                                       Sewanee University of the South

Madison Fitzgerald (2015-2018)             Current Position: University of Michigan,  Vanderbilt University                                 Graduate Student     

Hamilton Green                                          Current Position: Vanderbilt IGP, Class of 2018       (Summer 2015, 2016, 2018)                                                                                                      Dillard University

Nick James (2018)                                                                                                                Vanderbilt University

Stephanie Rodriguez (Summer 2017)                                                                                   Sewanee University of the South                              

Rebecca Ebbot (2015-2017)                      Current Position: Northwestern University,  Vanderbilt University                                 Medical Student   

Emily Apple (2017)                                    Current Position: RN, BSN at University of  Vanderbilt University                                Tennessee, Knoxville  

Ellisa Zhang (2013-2016)                         Current Position: St. Louis College of                  Post- Baccalaureate from                         Pharmacy, Pharm. D. Student                                        Washington University of St. Louis

Spencer Colling (2015-2016)                   Current Position: Operations Manager, Gap Inc.  Post- Baccalaureate from                                                                                                          Belmont University 

Corrine Baroni (Summer 2017)               Current Position: Undergraduate at University  High school student observer                   of Alabama

Sailseh Sitaram (Summer 2017)              Current Position: Undergraduate at                    High school student observer                 University of Washington, St. Louis 

Carlson Keller (Summer 2016)                                                                                                    Meharry Medical College Medical Student

Sanyk McCuller (Summer 2018)                                                                                                    Meharry Medical College Medical Student

Navleen Gill (2015-2016)                                                                                                     Vanderbilt University

Himesh Zaver (2013-2015)                     Current Position: MD at East Tennessee State  Belmont University                                  University, Internal Medicine Residency at Mayo                                                                            Clinic, Jacksonville, FL               

Sarah Hanks (Summer 2015)                 Current Position: University of Michigan,      Barnard College                                         Graduate  Student

Noah Chakroun (2015)                                                                                                          Vanderbilt University

Katherine Harsh (2015)                                                                                                       Vanderbilt University