Subfactors and Applications, Sept. 30 – Oct. 1, 2017

Our campus Welcome to the homepage for the Shanks workshop Subfactors and Applications

This workshop will bring together researchers working in areas of mathematics that are related to the theory of subfactors. This includes conformal field theory, statistical mechanical models, algebraic quantum field theory, quantum computing, tensor networks, low dimensional topology and fusion categories.

We strongly encourage students and postdocs to attend this conference. Some financial support is available.


    Terry Gannon, University of Alberta
    Significant sharpening of the Ocneanu-Schopieray bound for modular
    Birgit Kaufmann, Purdue University
    Bethe-Ansatz for an SU(3) Hecke quotient
    Zhengwei Liu, Harvard University
    From subfactors to quantum information and back
    Tobias Osborne, University of Hannover
    Tensor network representations of spacetime symmetries
    James Tener, UC Santa Barbara
    Geometry of conformal nets
    Dylan Thurston, Indiana University
    Quantum exceptional series
    Simon Wood, Cardiff University
    Classifying positive energy modules in conformal field theory
    Feng Xu, UC Riverside
    Triality, golden ratio and subfactors

Registration and Financial Aid

No formal registration is required. However, if you intend to attend the workshop, please email Dietmar Bisch.

A small amount of financial support is available to (partially) fund graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and other participants without grant support. If you require support, please email one of the organizers and read the section Reimbursement Policy.

Please submit your request for financial support by August 31, 2017. Late requests will be considered as long as financial support is available. Note that we are unable to provide any support in advance.


Funding for the Shanks workshop is provided by Vanderbilt University and the Shanks endowment of the Vanderbilt Department of Mathematics. We are grateful for their support.


Dietmar Bisch, Vanderbilt University
Vaughan Jones, Vanderbilt University