Skip to main content

Meet a Member: Olivia Hill

Posted by on Friday, September 10, 2021 in Meet a USAC Member.

Meet a USAC Member

Hill, Olivia


What department do you work in and what is your job title?
I am the power plant supervisor in the Facilities Department.

How long have you been a Vanderbilt employee?
I have been at Vanderbilt for 25 years and 8 months.

What has been your career journey to led you to where you are today?
10 years in the US Navy, 2 tours in the Persian Gulf including combat action in the desert.  I have been making steam and electricity for over 35 years!

What do you enjoy most about Vanderbilt?
Getting to walk around this beautiful campus!

What is the best perk you have ever had at a job?
Getting to tell people I work at Vanderbilt. 

What do you enjoy doing to relieve stress?
Helping others.  I put $25.00 a week into my Vanderbilt credit union account.  Whenever I see a single mother with kids, a police officer or active-duty military, I always pay for their meal without them knowing it was me. Helping someone without them knowing who it was puts a huge smile on my face!!

What is the greatest bit of advice a parent or mentor gave you?
“Tough times never last, tough people do” My mother

Are you more productive at night or in the morning?  Do you think it is possible to change and get used to a new schedule?
I am a morning person.  I tried working nights years ago.  There are people that are cut out for that, and I am not one of them!

What did you want to be when you grew up?

What is your favorite type of music?
All types!

If you could visit any country with no budget, where would you visit?
Ireland, I am Irish.

What has been your favorite vacation you have ever been on?
Key West Florida

What are you most proud of in your life so far?
That I finally got the strength to stand up and finally be my Authentic Self.  People ask me all the time what it’s like to transition. I tell them to think of their greatest dream, being President of the United States, Mis America, CEO of some large company, then imaging waking up one day and realize your greatest wish came true. That’s what it’s like.

What is your favorite outdoor activity?
Riding my road bicycle

Name two things you consider yourself to be good at?
Trans activist, and helping others

What is something on your bucket list?
Empower as many women as possible while opening the eyes of all men of how unequal things are for all genders and people of color.

What is a skill or talent you would like to learn?
Playing the piano.

If you had an extra hour each day, how would you spend it?
Helping others!