Skip to main content

Meet a USAC Member: Fiana Barrow

Posted by on Monday, January 31, 2022 in Meet a USAC Member.

Picture1What department do you work in and what is your job title?

I work in Development and Alumni Relations as a Prospect Development Manager for Major Gifts.

How long have you been a Vanderbilt employee?

I have been with Vanderbilt for 4 years.

What has been your career journey to lead you to where you are today?

After college, I began my career working in retail management.  I worked in pharmacy, military, fashion, and grocery retail.  You really learn a lot about your capabilities when you are the manager on duty during a tornado threat and the grocery store power goes out.  From there I moved to for-profit higher education operations and then into prospect management here at Vanderbilt.

What do you enjoy most about Vanderbilt? (i.e. missions, benefits, views of sustainability, community, etc.)? 

The opportunity to connect with like-minded individuals through groups like USAC and the Association of Vanderbilt Black Faculty and Staff.

What is the greatest bit of advice a parent or mentor has given you?

Joy and pain are like sunshine and rain -my dad (via Frankie Beverly and Maze)

What is one important skill every person should have?


What is the best perk you have ever had at a job?

I briefly worked at a Hilton brand hotel and let me tell you, that discount on rooms was amazing for travel!

Do you feel like you have a good work/life balance?

Yes, I do feel like I have a good work/life balance.  It took some intention, but it really is worth it.

What do you enjoy doing to relieve stress?

Listening to music from my childhood helps me relieve stress.

Are you more productive at night or in the morning?  Do you think it is possible to change and get used to a new schedule?

I am a night owl!  But I do think it is possible to make changes especially when you have the proper motivation.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

As a kid, I wanted to be a pharmacist when I grew up. However, college chemistry courses were not my friend.

If you could visit any country with no budget, where would you visit?

I would love to visit Greece and see how our Parthenon compares to the OG.

What is your favorite type of music? 

R&B is my favorite type of music, especially from the 90’s.

What has been your favorite vacation you have ever been on?

A few years ago, I went to the beach with my then 3-year old niece.  Experiencing the trip through her joy and wonder from stepping onto the plane to jumping into the waves was so sweet!

What are you most proud of in your life thus far?

I purchased my first home in September 2020.  I was so proud to have reached a goal I set for myself despite a pandemic.

Name two things you consider yourself to be good at.

Driving (I am a 5-Star driver for Lyft!) and making chocolate chip cookies.

What is your favorite outdoor activity?

I love to pull out the cornhole boards when the weather gets nice.  I am not going to say I am the best, but I welcome all competition.

What is something on your bucket list?


What skill or talent would you most like to learn?

I would like to learn how to play the guitar.

If you had an extra hour each day, how would you spend it?

I would spend an extra hour each day taking a nap, haha!