VINSE News & Events

Home » News » NanoDay! 2016 Poster Winners

NanoDay! 2016 Poster Winners

Posted by on Wednesday, October 19, 2016 in News.

More than 100 faculty, post-docs, graduate and undergraduate students engaged in nanoresearch at Vanderbilt attended the 17th annual Nanoscience/Nanotechnology Forum (“NanoDay!”) on October 19th. 33 posters were submitted in the 2016 student poster competition and the winners are:


NanoDay! 2016 Poster winners – Zhu, Moyer, Westover, Saltzman, Knight, Sarett, Fain *Dimobi not pictured – NanoDay keynote speaker Dr. Mark Saltzman accepted the award on her behalf.

1st Place
Zhihua Zhu, Electrical Engineering
Advisor: Jason Valentine/Richard Haglund
“Tunable Metasurfaces Based on Vanadium Dioxide

2nd Place
Somtochukwu Dimobi, undergraduate, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Advisor: Craig Duvall
“Validation of a Galectin-8 Reporter as a Measure of Nanocarrier Endosomal Escape and Biologic Drug Intracellular Bioavailability

Joshua Fain, Electrical Engineering
Advisor: Sharon Weiss
“Scalable Fabrication of Shape-Engineered Porous Silicon Nanoparticles by Direct Imprintation

3rd Place
Samantha Sarett, Biomedical Engineering,
Advisor: Craig Duvall
“Conjugation of lipophilic albumin-binding moiety to siRNA improves carrier-free in vivo pharmacokinetics and mediates prolonged gene silencing in tumors

Andrew Westover, Interdisciplinary Materials Science
Advisor: Cary Pint
“Carbon Nanotube Reinforced Multifunctional Energy Storage Composites

Frances Knight, Biomedical Engineering
Advisor: John Wilson
“Stimulating Pulmonary Immunity via Intranasal Delivery of Nanoparticle Vaccines

1st Year IMS student 10- week Research Rotation
Kate Moyer, Interdisciplinary Materials Science
Advisor: Cary Pint
“Capillary filling of carbon nanotubes for next generation batteries


Comments are closed.

Back Home   

Recent Posts

Browse by Month