Skip to main content

2024 Summer Nanoseminar Schedule

Posted by on Tuesday, May 14, 2024 in Colloquium, Events, News.

Nanoseminar banner

The VINSE summer nanoseminar series provides an opportunity for graduate students or post-docs to share their current research with the larger VINSE community to foster discussion and collaboration.  Each seminar will consist of 2 talks of 15-20 minutes each with 10-15 minutes of questions.  The goal of these talks is to discuss and challenge the work being presented in order to promote a healthy debate. Seminars will be held in 134 Featheringill Hall from 12:00-1:00pm.

The 2024 Summer Nanoseminar Committee is:
– Owen Meilander, Interdisciplinary Material Science, Ebrish Group
– Amelia Soltes, Biomedical Engineering, Duvall Group

May 31, 2024
Zane Parkerson – Jennings Group
“Simultaneous Spin Coating and Ring-Opening Metathesis Polymerization for Rapid Polymer Film Synthesis”

Ben Schmidt – VINSE
“VINSE New Capabilities & Programs”

June 7, 2024
Adam Abdulrahman – Lippmann Group
“Lipid-siRNA Conjugates Enhance Delivery to Border-Associated Macrophages”
Alexandria Carter – King Group
“Metastasis: Navigating a Minefield and Harnessing Models for Clinical Insight”

June 14, 2024
Brandon Swartz – Valentine Group
“Analog Optical Feature Detection using Broadband Hybrid Metaoptics
Sydney Henriques – Giorgio Group
“Injectable Cryogels to Modulate Macrophage Behavior for Breast Cancer”

June 21, 2024
William Lowery – Cliffel Group
“Morphology Effects on the Incorporation of Photosystem I into PEDOT Films”
Romario Lobban – Bellan Group
“Thermoresponsive Polymer Hydrogels for Cooling-triggered Drug Release”

June 28, 2024
Emma Endres – Macdonald Group
“Influencing Metal Cation Coordination in Nanocrystals Through the Addition Phosphine Ligands”
Jamie Hemstock – Kidambi Group
“Quantifying Intrinsic Defects in Atomically Thin Layers for Next Generation Proton Exchange Membranes”

July 12, 2024
Huijin (Ginny) An – Weiss Group
“Porous Silicon Paper-based Rapid Diagnostic Test”
Allison Cordova-Huaman – Jennings Group
“Evaluating the Dynamic Properties of Responsive Surfaces to Environmental Stimuli”

July 19, 2024
Theodore Anyika – Ndukaife Group
“Hybrid approaches for nanoscale trapping and manipulation using plasmonic antennas”
Andrey Shults – Macdonald Group
“Role of carboxylates in the phase determination of metal sulfide nanoparticles”

July 26, 2024
Bradly Baer – Walker Group
“Modeling thermal transport across metal/graphite interfaces”
Sarah Hall – Duvall Group
“Ultrahigh Drug-Loaded Nanoparticles for Treatment of Triple-Negative Breast Cancer”