Schedule

This schedule includes a week by week summary of in-class activities; pre-class and post-class responsibilities; due dates dates of exercises, peer reviews, and projects.

Quick Reference of Important Dates

This lists dates for midterm and end-of-semester take-home synthesis exercises and projects only. See the week-by-week schedule below for a schedule of readings and due dates for smaller exercises.

  • Midterm Synthesis Exercises (September 30 – October 4);
    • Peer Reviews of Midterm Synthesis Exercises (October 5 – October 7)
  • Final Synthesis Exercises (November 9 – November 13);
    • Peer Reviews of Final Synthesis Exercises (November 14 – November 17)
  • Submit electronic version (for printing) of project poster (December 2)
  • Project poster session (December 7-8)

WEEK 1

Week’s Topics: Representation of Consequences

Class meeting (Wednesday, August 24 ):

To Do before August 26 class:

Class meeting (Friday, August 26 ):

  • Discuss 0th order and higher order consequences of computing, and their representation as ecological footprints
  • Instructor and Student Notes

WEEK 2

Week’s Topics: AI and Machine Learning

To Do before August 29 class:

Class meeting (Monday, August 29 ):

  • Quick Questions on Blackboard
  • Discuss Readings

To Do before August 31 class:

Class meeting (Wednesday, August 31 ):

To Do before September 2 class:

Class meeting (Friday, September 2 ):


WEEK 3

Week’s Topics: Agent-Based Modeling

To Do before September 5 class:

Class meeting (Monday, September 5 ):

  • Quick Questions on Blackboard
  • Discuss Reading

To Do before September 7 class:

Class meeting (Wednesday, September 7 ):

To Do before September 9 class:

Class meeting (Friday, September 9 ):


WEEK 4

Week’s Topics: Social Computing

To Do before September 12 class:

Class meeting (Monday, September 12 ):

  • Quick Questions on Blackboard
  • Discuss Readings and Videos

To Do before September 14 class:

Class meeting (Wednesday, September 14 ):

To Do before September 16 class:

Class meeting (Friday, September 16 ):

Submit 2-3 paragraphs on the game playing experience to Blackboard by Friday, 6:00 pm (and optionally to Instructor and Student Notes anytime) 


WEEK 5

Week’s Topics: Optimization

To Do before September 19 class:

Class meeting (Monday, September 19 ):

  • Present part 1 algorithms (3 minute presentation per student)

To Do before September 21 class:

Class meeting (Wednesday, September 21 ):

  • Present part 2 algorithms (3 minute presentation per student)

To Do before September 23 class:

Class meeting (Friday, September 23 ):


WEEK 6

Week’s Topics: Mobile Computing

To Do before September 26 class:

Class meeting (Monday, September 26 ):

  • Quick Questions on Blackboard (first of them this week – on readings)
  • Discuss Readings

To Do before September 28 class:

Class meeting (Wednesday, September 28 ):

To Do before September 30 class:

Class meeting (Friday, September 30 ):


WEEK 7

Week’s Topics: Midterm Synthesis

To Do before October 3:

No Class meeting (Monday, October 3 ):

  • Office hours and consultation (optional)

Submit Midterm Synthesis Exercise Paper by 11:59 PM October 4

Class meeting (Wednesday, October 5 ):

Submit Midterm Synthesis Exercise Paper by 11:59 PM October 5

To Do before October 7:

No Class meeting (Friday, October 7 ):

  • Office hours and consultation (optional)

Submit Peer Commentaries by 11:59 PM Friday, October 7

Submit Peer Commentaries by 11:59 PM Saturday, October 8


WEEK 8

Week’s Topics: Robotics

To Do before October 10 class:

  • Project ideas and specifications (2 hours)

Class meeting (Monday, October 10 ):

  • Discuss student project ideas

To Do before October 12 class:

Class meeting (Wednesday, October 12 ):

To Do before October 14 class:

Class meeting (Friday, October 14 ): (Fall Break)


WEEK 9

Week’s Topics: Projects and Earth Modeling

To Do before October 17 class:

  • Work on project ideas and specifications (2 hours)

Class meeting (Monday, October 17 ):

  • Discuss Midterm Synthesis
  • Discuss student project ideas

To Do before October 19 class:

Class meeting (Wednesday, October 19 ):

  • Quick Questions on Blackboard
  • Discuss Reading

To Do before October 21:

  • Work on project, including 1-1 meetings (3 hours)

No Class meeting (Friday, October 21 ):

  • Office hours and consultation (optional)

WEEK 10

Week’s Topics: Machine Learning

To Do before October 24 class:

Class meeting (Monday, October 24 ):

To Do before October 26 class:

  • Work on projects, including 1-1 meetings (2 hours)

Class meeting (Wednesday, October 26 ):

  • TBA

To Do before October 28:

  • Work on projects, including 1-1 meetings (2 hours)

No Class meeting (Friday, October 28 ):

  • Office hours and consultation (optional)

WEEK 11

Week’s Topics: Projects

To Do before October 31 class:

  • Prepare and upload project presentation of work to date by 8:00 am. See format and content guidelines. (3 hours)

Class meeting (Monday, October 31 ):

  • Intermediate project presentations
  • Doug Skypes into class

To Do before November 2 class:

  • Work on projects (no 1-1 meetings) (2 hours)

Class meeting (Wednesday, November 2 ):

  • Intermediate project presentations
  • Doug Skypes into class

To Do before November 4:

  • Work on projects (no 1-1 meetings) (2 hours)

No Class meeting (Friday, November 4 ):

  • No class, but Skype consultations by appointment

WEEK 12

Week’s Topics: Algorithms and Hardware

To Do before November 7 class:

Class meeting (Monday, November 7 ):

  • Quick Questions on Blackboard
  • Discuss Readings in Hardware and Algorithms

To Do before November 9 class:

  • Work on projects, including 1-1 meetings (2 hours)

Class meeting (Wednesday, November 9 ):

  • Special guest, Dr. Kiri Wagstaff, Research Scientist and Technical Lead at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, to talk about machine learning that matters (Rescheduled from 10/26)

To Do during November 11:

No Class meeting (Friday, November 11 ):

  • Office hours and consultation (optional)

WEEK 13

Week’s Topics: Final Exercises

To Do before November 14 class:

Class meeting (Monday, November 14 ):

  • Project Updates

To Do before November 16 class:

Class meeting (Wednesday, November 16 ):

To Do before November 18:

No Class meeting (Friday, November 18 ):

Submit Final Synthesis Exercises by 11:59 PM November 19


November 19 – November 27: Thanksgiving Break


WEEK 14

Week’s Topics: Projects and Communicating Science and Technology

To Do before November 28 class:

  • Work on projects (1-1 meetings) (2 hours)

Class meeting (Monday, November 28 ):

To Do before November 30:

  • Work on projects (3 hours)

No Class meeting (Wednesday, November 30 ):

  • Office hours and consultation (optional)

To Do before December 2 class:

  • Work on projects (5 hours)

No Class meeting (Friday, December 2 ):

Submit Project Presentations by 11:59 PM on December 3


WEEK 15

Week’s Topics: Projects and Communicating Science and Technology

Class meeting (Monday, December 5 ):

  • Project Presentations (7 minutes each, 1/2 the class)

To Do before December 7 class

Class meeting (Wednesday, December 7 ): Last Day of Class

  • Project Presentations (7 minutes each, 1/2 the class)

Final Exam: Saturday, Dec 17 from 2:00 to 5:00 pm (http://registrar.vanderbilt.edu/cms/wp-content/files/Fall-2016-Final-Exam-Schedule.pdf) There is no final exam per se; all work will be completed by last regular day of classes (December 8)