Schedule

This schedule includes a week by week summary of in-class activities; pre-class and post-class responsibilities; due dates of exercises, quizzes, and projects.


WEEK 1

Week’s Topics:

Class meeting (Thursday, August 26 ):


WEEK 2

Week’s Topics: Computational Sustainability

To Do before August 31 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, August 31 ):

To Do before September 2 class:

  • Discussions of Readings (Piazza)
  • Exercise: Post one other source and abstract on a computing application to sustainability (see directions at the top of the Google doc).

Class meeting (Thursday, September 2 ):


WEEK 3

Week’s Topics: Machine Learning

To Do before September 7 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, September 7 ):

To Do before September 9 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, September 9 ):


WEEK 4

Week’s Topics: Agent-Based Modeling

To Do before September 14 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, September 14 ):

To Do before September 16 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, September 16 ):

  • Quiz QW4
  • Preview of next week on Social Computing, and ‘serious games’

WEEK 5

Week’s Topics: Social Computing

To Do before September 21 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, September 21 ):

  • Discuss Readings

To Do before September 23 class:

  • Complete Exercises on Sustainability Games  Post solution to Brightspace (1.5 hour)
  • Post at least one other source and abstract on non-game sustainability applications of social computing (1 hour)

Class meeting (Thursday, September 23 ):

  • Quiz QW5
  • Professor Jennifer Bradham, Wofford College; Doctoral student Kristy Ferraro, Yale University; Professor Maria (Malu) Jorge, Vanderbilt University; to discuss ABM models in their ecology research

WEEK 6

Week’s Topics:

To Do before September 28 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, September 28 ):

To Do before September 30 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, September 30):

  • Quiz QW6
  • More lecture and discussion of week’s materials

WEEK 7

Week’s Topics: Geographic Information Systems

To Do before October 5 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, October 5 ):

To Do before October 7 class:

  • Exercise: Complete GIS Exercise (submit to Brightspace)

Class meeting (Thursday, October 7):

  • Quiz QW7
  • More lecture and discussion of week’s materials

WEEK 8

Week’s Topics: Synthesis and Project

To Do before October 12 class:

  • Synthesis Exercise

Class meeting (Tuesday, October 12 ):

  • Discuss Group Project specification

To Do before October 14 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, October 14): (Fall Break, no class)

 


WEEK 9

Week’s Topics: Mobile Computing and Robotics

To Do before October 19 class:

https://josh.vanderhook.info/media/pdf/iram2013.pdf

Class meeting (Tuesday, October 19 ):

To Do before October 21 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, October 21):

  • Quiz QW9
  • More lecture and discussion of week’s materials

WEEK 10

Week’s Topics: Projects

To Do before October 26 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, October 26 ):

To Do before October 28 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, October 28):

  • Quiz QW10
  • More lecture and discussion of week’s materials

WEEK 11

Week’s Topics: Earth and Ocean Modeling

To Do before November 2 class:

https://e360.yale.edu/features/can-artificial-intelligence-help-build-better-smarter-climate-models

Class meeting (Tuesday, November 2 ):

To Do before November 4 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, November 4):

  • Quiz QW11

WEEK 12

Week’s Topics: Projects

To Do before November 9 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, November 9 ):

To Do before November 11 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, November 11):

  • Quiz QW12

WEEK 13

Week’s Topics: Algorithms and Hardware

To Do before November 16 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, November 16):

To Do before November 18 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, November 18):

  • Quiz QW13

November 20 – November 28: Thanksgiving Break


WEEK 14

Week’s Topics: Projects

To Do before November 30 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, November 30):

To Do before December 2 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, December 2):

  • Quiz QW14

WEEK 15

Week’s Topics: Projects

To Do before December 7 class:

Class meeting (Tuesday, December 7):

To Do before December 9 class:

Class meeting (Thursday, December 9):

  • Quiz w15

Final Exam

Tuesday, December 14 at 9:00 AM (https://registrar.vanderbilt.edu/documents/Fall_2021_exam_schedule.pdf )