About The Chapter

Mailing Address

Phi Beta Kappa
Alpha of Tennessee
VU Station B # 350192
2301 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37235-0192



Membership in the chapter comprises:

  • Members in course: Undergraduates in the College of Arts and Science at Vanderbilt University may become members-in-course following evalution of qualifications and election by the membership committee.  Once initiated, these individuals remain members of the chapter for life.
  • Alumni members: Graduates of the College of Arts and Science at Vanderbilt University who were not members-in-course may, after fifteen years standing as alumni, be nominated and elected by the Executive Council.
  • Honorary Members: Individuals who are not graduates of Vanderbilt, but who have given “clear evidence of the posession of distinguished scholarly capacities,” may be elected to honorary membership. This typically includes members of the Vanderbilt Faculty.
  • Associate Members: Members of other chapters of Phi Beta Kappa who become officers or members of the teaching staff of Vanderbilt University are invited to become associate members of the Alpha of Tennessee chapter with full privileges in the conduct of its affairs.  The Executive Council and Membership Committee typically comprise associate members.



The annual meeting of the Chapter is held in the Spring of each year on the day before graduation for the initiation of new members, for the election of officers, and for the transaction of any other business.  A member of the Vanderbilt community usually presents an address to the new members and their families.

The Chapter invites a prominent speaker to campus for its anniversary meeting, usually held in the first week of December, to celebrate the anniversary of the founding of Phi Beta Kappa in 1776 at the College of William & Mary.


Executive Council

Office Name Term
President David Golann ’22 – ’24
Vice President Robert Barsky ’22 – ’24
Secretary Jennifer Quigley ’22 – ’24
Treasurer Soren Hessler ’22 – ’24
Past President Kashif Graham ’22 – ’24
Membership Committee Chair Martha Jones ’22 – ’24
Membership Committee

Membership Committee

Freshman Seminar Essay Award Committee & Student Representatives Nashely Alvarez

Joseph Gertzman

Davi Lennon

Dev Patel

Leah Taylor

Xiaoyu Zhang

Junior initiates 2022

Membership Committee

 Martha Jones (Chair)

Chapter Dues

Annual dues for all chapter members are $30. Dues payments and any additional contributions to further the work of the chapter, may be made online or can be sent to:

Soren Hessler, Treasurer
PMB 350192
2301 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37235-0192

Constitution and By-Laws

Constitution and By-Laws

Back Home