Group Members


Deliang Bao, Postdoctoral Researcher

Laura Nichols, Graduate Student

Laura Nichols, Graduate Student

Not Pictured:

Xin Jin, Postdoctoral Researcher

Haardik Pandey, Postdoctoral Researcher

Harrison Walker, Graduate Student

Grant Mayberry, Graduate Student

Demos Negash, Undergraduate Student

Matthew Lu, Undergraduate Student

Jeremy Illut, Undergraduate Student

Natalie Baggett, Executive Assistant

Recent Visiting Graduate Student Scholars:

Yanfang Zhang, Visiting Student Scholar, UCAS (2016)

Yanfang Zhang, Visiting Student Scholar, UCAS (2016)

Ruizi image

Ruizi Zhang, Visiting Student Scholar, UCAS (2016-2017)


Deliang Bao, Visiting Student Scholar, UCAS (2017-2018)








Recent Undergraduate Students:

Dominic Critchlow

Emmett Kahn (2016)

christian Pic

Christian Ornelas (2017)


Tyler Summers (2017)






Samantha Smiley (2018)


Colton Barger (2018)









Joseph Minnich (2019)

Nick R

Nicholas Richardson (2020)

Not Pictured:

Nathaniel Karom, REU Undergraduate Student (Allegheny College) (2022)

Amaya Caudel, REU Undergraduate Student (2022)

Corey Combs (2015)

Anthony Lin (2016)

Fiona Steele


Students graduated from Vanderbilt University:

Tamas Bakos – European Patent Office, The Hague, Netherlands

Matthew Evans – Senior Manager for Advanced Technology at Lockheed Martin

Ryan Hatcher- Senior Staff Engineer at Samsung in Austin

Ying Hu  – Post-doctoral researcher, Peking University, China

Timothy Pennycook – Postdoctoral researcher, University of Oxford, UK

Keith Warnick – Nashville, TN

Junhao Lin – JSPS Fellow, AIST, Tsukuba, Japan

Jordan Hachtel – Post-doc, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Oleg Ovchinnikov – Nashville, TN


Former Post-docs and research staff at Vanderbilt University/ORNL:

Andy O’Hara–Assistant Professor of Physic, Western Michigan University

Joseph Zhao–



TIANLI FENG–Staff Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

YUNPENG WANG– Fuchen University

SUMMAYYA KOUSER–Post-doctoral Researcher, Rice University

JOHN BREHM–Research Scientist, Drexel University


SEBASTIAN ZULUAGA–Data Scientist, Allstate

JINGTIAN FANG–Post-doctoral Researcher, Boston University

HUNTER SIMS–Assistant Professor, Francis Marion University

PRIYANKA MANCHANDA–Post-doctoral Researcher, Howard University

BLAIR TUTTLE–Associate Professor, Penn State Behrend

YU-YANG ZHANG–Associate Professor, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences

SANJAY PRABAHAKAR–Post-doctoral Researcher, University of Nebraska

PANKAJ SAHOTA–Post-doctoral Researcher, University of Nebraska

SAURABH GHOSH–Asst. Professor, SRM University, Tamil Nadu, India

WEI WEI SUN–Research Staff, Oak Ridge National Laboratory


MYRON KAPETANAKIS–Post-doctoral Researcher, Department of Physics, University of Alabama Birmingham

XIAO SHEN–Assistant Professor, University of Memphis

JUNHAO LIN–Researcher, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan

MARK OXLEY–Staff, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

QIAO QIAO–Post-doctoral researcher, Brookhaven

ROHAN MISHRA–Assistant Professor, University of Washington in St. Louis

YEVGENIY S. PUZYREV–Research AT&T, Atlanta, GA

GEORGIOS BARMPARIS–University of Crete, Greece



SCOTT McCARLEY – Research Staff Member, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center

ROLAND WINKLER – Assistant Professor, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL

AMITESH MAITI – Research Scientist, Livermore National Laboratory

MAURIZIO FERCONI – Managing Director, Financial Engineering, Putnam Investments.

J. VICENTE ALVAREZ, financial services

FERNANDO REBOREDO – Research Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

MASSIMILIANO DI VENTRA – Professor, Dept. of Physics, University of California at San Diego

KARL SOHLBERG –  Professor, Drexel University

LIGEN WANG – Research Scientist, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

SEONG-GON KIM –  Professor of Physics, Mississippi State University

SERGEY RASHKEEV- Research Scientist, Idaho Falls National Laboratory

SANWU WANG – Assistant Professor, University of Tulsa, Tulsa, Oklahoma

KALMAN VARGA – Associate Professor, Vanderbilt University

ZHONG-YI LU – Professor of Physics, Renmin University, Beijing, China

ALBERTO FRANCESCHETTI   – Research Scientist, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, CO

SERGEY RASHKEEV, Idaho National Laboratory, Idaho Falls, Idaho

GEORGE HADJISAVVAS, University of Crete, Crete, Greece

ISKANDER BATYREV, Army Research Laboratory, Maryland

OSCAR RESTREPO, Department of Materials Science, The Ohio State University

APOSTOLOS MARINOPOULOS, University of Combria, Combria, Portugal

MATTHEW BECK, Asst. Professor, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY

NIKOLAI SERGUEEV, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

LEONIDAS TSETSERIS, Assistant Professor,  National Technical University, Athens, Greece

WEIDONG LUO, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China

JUAN CARLOS IDROBO, Research staff member, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN

MICAH PRANGE, Postdoctoral researcher, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA

JIAN-AN YAN, Assistant Professor, Townson University, Townson, MD

JUN HE, Postdoctoral researcher, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

BIN WANG, Assistant Professor, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK


Students while at IBM (1975-1994):

JERRY BERNHOLC – Ph.D. thesis in residence at IBM T. J. Watson Research Center; Ph.D. granted by the University of Lund, Sweden, 1977 (Prof. L. Hedin) – Now Drexel Professor of Physics, North Carolina State University.

DAVID LAKS – Ph.D. thesis in residence at IBM T. J. Watson Research Center; Ph.D. granted by Columbia University, New York,1990 (Prof. G. Neumark) – Now with Morgan-Stanley Inc., New York.

Co-advised Ph.D. theses of U. Lindefelt (University of Lund, Sweden; Prof. L. Hedin), Marc Needels (MIT, Professor J.  Joannopoulos); Summer student: Marshall Long (Yale  University).

Post-docs while at IBM:

JERRY BERNHOLC –   Drexel Professor of Physics, North Carolina State University

JOHANNES POLLMANN – Professor and Chair of Physics, University of Muenster, Germany.

JEAN POL VIGNERON – Professor, University Notre Dame de la Paix, Namur, Belgium

IVAN IVANOV – present address unknown

ANNABELLA  SELLONI  – research professor of chemistry, Princeton University

ROBERTO CAR – Professor of Chemistry and Physics, Princeton University

PAUL KELLY  –  Professor, University of Twente, Holland

ATSUSHI OSHIYAMA  –  Professor, University of Tokyo, Japan

MATTHIAS SCHEFFLER –  Director at the Fritz-Haber Institute in Berlin, Germany.

CHRIS VAN DE WALLE – Professor of Materials Science, University of California at Santa Barbara.

PETER DENTENEER – Professor, University of Leiden, Holland.

CAROL NICHOLS  –  Associate Dean of Engineering, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA.

YANEER BAR-YAM –President, New England Complex Systems Institute

PETER BLOECHL – Professor, Technical University Clausthal, Germany

DAVID LAKS – now Financial Analyst, Morgan-Stanley, Inc.

DIMITRIS MAROUDAS – Professor, Chemical Engineering, University of Massachusetts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *