Clinical & Translational Career Development



  • To provide near-peer and peer mentoring opportunities and mutual support for new investigators.
  • To provide strategies for professional development and advancement from peer experiences.
  • To provide opportunities for social and professional interactions for those pursuing research careers.

New Times and Locations!

COMPASS meets weekly on Wednesdays from 1:00-2:00. The default location is the office of Dr. Aron Parekh, 522B Preston Research Building, but many meetings will take place across campus and feature special guests!

July 19, 1:00-2:00 PM
Au Bon Pain
Guest: Julie Sterling, PhD

Dr. Julie Sterling received her PhD in Molecular and Cellular Biology from the Medical College of Ohio in 2003. After graduating, she began her post-doctoral fellowship with Dr. Gregory Mundy at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio studying breast cancer metastasis to bone.  In 2006, she moved with Dr. Mundy to Vanderbilt University.  Dr. Sterling now has a joint appointment as a Researcher at the Department of Veterans Affairs: Tennessee Valley Healthcare System and an Assistant Professor in the Center for Bone Biology at Vanderbilt University.  Her lab uses multi-disciplinary approaches including molecular biology, pre-clinical models, engineering, and imaging to investigate how the bone micro-environment regulates tumor establishment in bone and bone destruction with a specific focus on identifying new therapeutic targets.  She has current funding from the DOD (CDMRP Break through Level II), NIH (R01), and a VA Merit.




Back Home   

Coming Up

Recent Awards

Dr. Aima Ahonkhai (R21)
Dr. Melinda Aldrich (U01)
Dr. John Benjamin (R01)
Dr. Rachel Bonami (R03)
Dr. Katherine Cahill (U01)
Dr. Ryan Darby (K23)
Dr. Amanda Doran (R01)
Dr. Irina de la Huerta (K08)
Dr. Mallory Hacker (K01)
Dr. Eric Kerchberger (K01)
Dr. Annet Kirabo (R01)
Dr. Allison Norlander (K99)
Dr. Luis Rosas-Vidal (K08)
Dr. Julia Sheffield (K23)
Dr. Bhuminder Singh (R01)
Dr. Amanda Stone (K23)
Dr. Justin Van Beusecum (VA CDA)
Dr. Andrew Wiese (K01)
Dr. Shawniqua Williams Roberson (K23)