Clinical & Translational Career Development

Shut Up and Write


Stemming from a national movement to encourage writers to protect writing time and develop regular writing habits, the Edge for Scholars SHUT UP AND WRITE groups provide early career scientists and researchers with a set time and place to meet and work on their grant proposals or manuscripts.


3 Essential Steps to Success in this Group

1: Show up and shut up.

2: Commit to writing.

3: Get to work.

Adapted from: Shut Up & Write website

Location: Neurosurgery Conference Room, 4th floor MCN

Light Hall Group:

This group, led by Ciara Shaver, meets weekly on Thursdays from 9:30am-11:30am in Light Hall, the room location changes weekly. This group is currently limited to junior faculty. If interested in joining this group, please contact Ciara Shaver:


Vanderbilt Genetics Institute:

This group, led by Cara Ballard Sutcliffe, meets weekly on Thursdays from 10:00am-12:00pm in the Clinical Pharmacology conference room (RRB 576). This group is open and welcomes new members and drop-ins. Contact:

Robinson Research Building Room 576

Location: Robinson Research Building Room 576

Materials for Group Leaders

Email template:

Subject: Are you ready to Shut Up and Write?

You know you need to finish writing that paper, so set aside the time to make it happen by joining the Shut Up & Write group [date].

The next meeting of this group is set for [date] and will continue to meet [location] We’ll bring the coffee and extension cords, you bring your laptop.

Tips for SUAW meeting:

Arrive early: We begin writing upon arrival and time breaks occur every 25 minutes for 5 minutes.

Have a plan of attack: Which section will you focus on? What is your completion goal for the session?

Go offline: You can’t unplug, but you can disconnect from the internet during writing time.

Stay as long as you need: If you’re still cranking as the group disbands, keep writing as long as the room is available.

RSVP to [email] or just drop in.

Upcoming dates will be:




See you there!

Room sign:






Table tent:

SUAW_table sign_template_halfpage







Back Home   

Coming Up

Thursday, August 8, 2019
Visiting Scholars Celebration
Guest Speaker Dr. Thomas Yankeelov
5:30 PM Mixer
6:00 PM Dinner
206 Alumni Hall

Recent Awards

Dr. Xiang Shu (K99/R00)
Dr. Mark Moehle (K99/R00)
Dr. Doug Johnson (R01)
Dr. Daniel Barocas (R01)
Dr. Craig Brooks (R01)
Dr. Ashley Shoemaker (R03)
Dr. Wendy Bottinor (AHA CDA)
Dr. Bradley Richmond (VA CDA)
Dr. Lindsay Celada (K01)
Dr. Isaac Thomsen (R01)
Dr. Julie Lounds Taylor (R01)
Dr. Eric Tkaczyk (VA CDA)
Dr. Leigh Howard (K23)
Dr. Anna Vilgelm (R37)
Dr. Jin Han (R56)
Dr. Amanda Mixon (VA Merit)
Dr. Jessica Perkins (K01)
Dr. Marcos Lopez (K23)
Dr. Jason Spaeth (K01)
Dr. Cecilia Chung (R01)
Dr. Tim Hohman (R01)
Dr. Ricky Shinall (R03)
Dr. Danielle Dean (K01)
Dr. Khaled Abdel-Kader (R01)
Dr. Gautam Bhave (R01)
Dr. Katherine Gotham (R01)
Dr. Matthew Semler (K23)
Dr. Dolly Ann Padovani-Claudio (K08)
Dr. Rachelle Crescenzi (AHA CDA)
Dr. Katherine Bachmann (VA CDA)
Dr. Robert Cronin (K23)
Dr. Laura Keohane (K01)
Dr. Krystle Kuhs (K07)