Clinical & Translational Career Development

Grant Pacing Workshops

Pace yourself smoothly to completion of your grant application.

Note: F series grant pacing information can be found here:

Registration for K & R series October 2022 submissions is open:

Registrants must be preparing a career development award (K-equivalent) or R01 grant. The workshop is limited to 16 K-writers and 16 R-writers. Additional registrants are placed on the waitlist.

Open to Vanderbilt University, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, and Meharry Medical College postdoctoral fellows and early career faculty.

The Edge Grant Pacing Workshop and peer accountability groups are designed to help you prepare the best possible grant. This workshop includes two in-person workshop sessions – a half-day and a full-day – with senior investigators. From grant start to finish, Drs. Hartmann, Bastarache, Edwards, and Hood are available to you and will connect you to Edge for Scholars resources.

The ultimate goal of the workshop is to help you keep steady progress to completion of your application for October 2022 submission dates (September for AIDS-related).

Email Adrienne Babcock with inquiries or to be placed on the distribution list.


Schedule for October 2022 cycle:

Grant Pacing Workshop – K & R Sessions for October CycleDate of Meeting
K- Session 1June 1 (9:00am-12:00pm)
R- Session 1June 2 (9:00am-12:00pm)
K- Session 2June 20 (8:30am-4:00pm)
R- Session 2June 21 (8:30am-4:00pm)
Edge Review Survey of IntentJuly 28 by 5:00pm
Edge Review Materials DueAug 11 by 5:00pm
Edge Review MeetingAug 30 & Sept 1


Materials for Pacing a K or R01 Award


  • available upon registration; contact Adrienne Babcock. A registration email with exact workshop dates typically goes out one month before the first workshop of a series. Email Adrienne Babcock to be placed on the distribution list.

Video Library



Resource Links

Writing, Editorial, Personal, and Other Types of Assistance

Office of Clinical & Translational Career Development OCTSD

Back Home   

Coming Up

Recent Awards

Dr. Aima Ahonkhai (R21)
Dr. Melinda Aldrich (U01)
Dr. John Benjamin (R01)
Dr. Rachel Bonami (R03)
Dr. Katherine Cahill (U01)
Dr. Ryan Darby (K23)
Dr. Amanda Doran (R01)
Dr. Irina de la Huerta (K08)
Dr. Mallory Hacker (K01)
Dr. Eric Kerchberger (K01)
Dr. Annet Kirabo (R01)
Dr. Allison Norlander (K99)
Dr. Luis Rosas-Vidal (K08)
Dr. Julia Sheffield (K23)
Dr. Bhuminder Singh (R01)
Dr. Amanda Stone (K23)
Dr. Justin Van Beusecum (VA CDA)
Dr. Andrew Wiese (K01)
Dr. Shawniqua Williams Roberson (K23)